Leaving Home…

Moving from home is probably one of the biggest steps we have to take as teenagers. Throughout my high school years, there has always been those teachers that are up your butt about what you want to do after high school and honestly, none of us understood why we needed to know those things when we were a freshman. Being a senior now, and having to pick which school I am going to go to, and what I am going to major in, and how I am going to pay for college, are things that have been a lot easier for me to think about being I had the resources and help to figure it out before I was a senior. 

A few weeks ago, I took my 5th college tour. Let me tell you, college tours are not the most exciting thing, but when you tour “your” college, it is an amazing feeling. My final college tour was to UW-La Crosse. Going into this tour, I had the mindset that this was the college I wanted to go to, but it was still super scary meeting with administrators, and other high school students. This was a bit of a challenge for me because I am kind of shy when it comes to meeting new people. 

At the start of the tour I was nervous, and by the end of it I was confident. This was my school, this would be the place I would call home for the next four years. Furthering your education to college after high school is a great benefit in many ways. It will be easier for you to get a job in certain fields, and it will help you develop more as a person. In college, you pretty much start your life all over again. New friends, new experiences, and you are starting a life of your own without your parents and family there to guide you. 

This is a very scary thing that requires a lot of motivation to go outside of our comfort box to completely start over.

“There is no elevator to success. You have to take the stairs.”

Anonymous

I say this quote is completely true. It takes a lot of work to become successful and going to college is a step up the stairs to that goal. My experience transitioning from high school to college, was an interesting one and it definitely wasn’t easy. But now that I have my future planned out, I feel more confident leaving home and starting my own life. What are your plans for after high school?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started